First Letter/Phone call

7/8/2018

It has been ten days since Sam was inducted, which means today was the first scheduled phone call. It just so happens I got home from a family vacation at midnight, so I received mail for the first time in a week. My morning started with reading his letter, which was really exciting considering I have mailed eleven myself. The letter was from multiple days prior so he talked about stuff he did at the beginning of the week. Nevertheless, it was amazing to hear how positive he was and to learn about some of the things he had been doing.

After church and a trip to the gym, I headed over to Sam’s house to sit in on the phone call. The call was supposed to come in about 1:15, but it ended up being a little bit later than that. While we waited, I played a board game with Sam’s siblings. When his mom’s phone rang, we all sat in the family room and listened to him talk on speakerphone. It took a little prompting to get him to keep talking, but he had loads to say about his experience so far. It was really comforting to hear what a great time he is having and how positive he seems to be despite being so sore!

His mom very generously gave me the last two minutes to talk with Sam by myself, so I took the phone and went into another room. In the heat of the moment it was hard to come up with things to say, so I highly recommend writing things down that you want to ask your plebe. Neither of us cried which I consider an accomplishment! Honestly, it was just amazing to hear his voice and learn about his experience so far!

Sam is thankfully enjoying his time and seems to be adapting to the environment easily– this doesn’t always happen with plebes– so I’m a lucky gal.

 

Leave a comment